Some people think that technology is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others argue that the opposite is true. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Technology is constantly evolving. Many argue that this has widened the gap between the rich and the poor, whereas others are of the opinion that it has led to equality in income amongst all sections of the society. Although, both aforementioned notions can be argued, in my opinion, it is the latter one that holds true, and this essay will provide evidence as to why it is so. There is a general perception that innovation in the field of technology has made the poor poorer and the rich a lot richer. With increasing reliance on technology, the middle-class and the well-to-do sections of the society have found more avenues to enhance their skillsets and accordingly their incomes, whereas the underprivileged ones who don’t have access to it, have stagnated. For instance, countries that invest a substantial amount of their budget on research and development, have a wide gap in per capita income amongst their citizens. Indeed, the increasing widening of income amongst the different sections of society can be attributed to science. However, others argue that as technology has evolved gradually, it has bridged the gap between the rich and the poor. Because of digital innovation, there has been an increase in opportunities of semi-skilled jobs. For example, more than 100,000 citizens in India have enrolled themselves as driver partners after the advent of cab aggregators like Ola and Uber. Thus, when utilized appropriately, technology can provide better earning opportunities for the downtrodden. To conclude, I strongly believe that although there is a direct correlation between technology and widening income gap amongst the citizens of any country, if thought out carefully and planned properly, it can lead to equality in income.