News media has become more influential in people’s life. Some believe it is a negative development, to what extent do you agree or disagree?

News media such as news broadcasts, online channels and social networking platforms have become influencing sources in the shaping of people's life, opinions and perceptions. However, the news media can adversely change the thought of people and can originate anti-social issues. The negative impacts of the news media are described as follows. To begin with, in the present era journalism or news broadcasting is considered to be a business as a wide variety of platforms are available for news telecast. Television channels, satellite media, and the internet are the major news sources that are easily accessible to the common man. Hence, in order to survive the existing competition and to satisfy the market demands, owners of these news channels are forced to concentrate on sensitive and negative issues for gaining people's attraction and for improving channel ratings. Sponsors, politicians, and business partners pressurize the concerned channel authorities to provide biased news and modify real-life incidents in favour of them. For instance, political parties advertise the progression of their ruling through news media and influence the political ideology of people for obtaining more votes during elections. In another case, some politicians act in ad films depicting their role in women empowerment and other social issues to convince women. Innocent women may get inclined to a particular party seeing these kinds of fraud advertisements. Moreover, the people's interest in sensitive issues has been increased and brought the news of achievements and greatness to the bottom line or to the last page of newspapers. Another example of the negative effect is the increase in the crime rate and violence in society. To summarize, the news media has a great influence over the perception and thinking of people. Hence, proper censoring procedures should be introduced to avoid the telecast of wrong messages and violent activities. Through proper restrictions, the news media can be utilized to display information of great attainments and societal development. This sets a role model for the upcoming generations.