In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. What is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, businesses claim that their goods are different and unique as compared to others. In my opinion, making a great deal of money and people’s requests are the reasons for this trend. I am also convinced that it has its own drawbacks such as economic and environmental consequences. It is my view that business managers are striving to make remarkable progress in their occupations. Hence, eye-catching advertisements which are able to manipulate their audiences are more successful at achieving managers their financial goals. Such advertisements that emphasise being novel can draw customers’ attention and make considerable profits for their owners. On the other hand, with tremendous technological advancements worldwide, customers are in search of brand-new things to fulfil their expectations. Therefore, markets are encouraged to produce goods which align with their customers’ preferences. For example, Apple Company is updating their products on a regular basis to stay in the competition cycle. I further believe that this trend has some disadvantages. Firstly, people can be convinced to buy things which they do not really need. This may result in the development of a consumerism culture that has negative effects on the environment and society. Many people who live in deprived areas find it difficult to purchase such new products due to financial difficulties. As a result, they may encounter mental problems such as depression in the long run. Moreover, consumerism can cause major problems for the environment. For instance, waste disposal may turn into a serious problem for governments. In conclusion, in my view, monetary targets and the customers’ requirements are the main causes of advertising something new. From my perspective, this notion can be detrimental in terms of socioeconomic and environmental issues.