Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an argument whether studying a foreign language is only helpful while travelling or working in a foreign country or it might have other benefits to individuals. From my point of view, I believe that learning a new language will definitely help people so much in their lives apart from the mentioned purposes. On the one hand, it goes without that studying a foreign language plays a pivotal role in enabling people to travel or work abroad. By learning a foreign language, individuals may find it easier to communicate with other people, especially for those who are travelling to new areas that they have not been to before. Consequently, it can help them to understand the conversations and perform their works smoothly. In fact, if everyone could only speak their mother tongue, it would be very difficult for them when they need to ask for people ’s help in a foreign nation and they might face troubles. For example, when a monolingual comes to a new place, they can be deceived to commit a serious crime without noticing it, which can make them be punished or even put in jail. On the other hand, approaching a new language can provide people with several advantages that make their lives become meaningful and more interesting. Besides the purposes of travelling or working for foreigners, becoming bilingual also brings each person opportunities to broaden their horizons and new job opportunities in their career. In other words, learning a foreign language help people to understand the traditions and cultures of other countries. As a result, they can make use of good experiences which they learned from nations and contribute to the society. In addition, studying new languages also makes people be more confident while they interact with other ones. The more knowledgeable they get, the more attractive people they become. In conclusion, I enunciate that speaking a foreign language is necessary to people who travel or work in a foreign country, though, it is completely not the only reason due to the fact it is also beneficial to one’s life in many different aspects.