In some countries, people prefer to rent a house than buy one. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a property?

There are trends in some countries that possessing a home is considered better than renting. I believe this phenomenon is attributed to the stability of the value of houses and this has a positive effect. The reason why the public in some countries regards owning a home as more beneficial than renting one is that a houses value is likely to be stable in terms of money. In many countries, the value of money fluctuates drastically in response to the economy and there is a possibility that people will incur losses. Therefore, the value of houses is unlikely to drop steeply. Thus, buying property is considered to be a long-term investment. Regarding the outcome of this circumstance, in my view, there are both positives and negatives consequences. As to the positive, since its tendency allows people to settle down in a certain region, people ’s engagement in the local community will be strengthened. When people buy their houses for an arm and a leg, they avoid moving to other places, resulting in helping to tighten bonds within the local communities. For example, in Kumamoto prefecture in Japan, a number of houses were devastated by a heavy storm last year. The residents responded in interviews that they missed not only their houses but also their communities that always welcomed them warmly In conclusion, in my opinion, people own their houses because their values tend to be stable compared to money, and this triggers/bring about a positive effect on the individuals.