Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion. While some believe that modernisation has made us more reliant on each other, others, however, think that we are more self-reliant and free from dependency on others as time has progressed. I believe that we have become more independent than at any time in history. People who advocate that we have become more dependent on each other in this modern era often present the idea that our necessity has increased and we need to interact with far more people due to this. This in a way requires us to rely on others for our needs. For instance, office executives mostly rely on laundry services, restaurants, housemaids, cleaning services and so on to have their necessary works done. In the past, people used to do most of these tasks on their own. Moreover, the prices of education, house, daily commodities etc. are skyrocketing day by day and we need to rely on our parents to have those needs fulfilled until we get a job. When we will become earning members, our parents and children will rely on us. Due to people ’s busy schedules and high ambitions, they need to socialise and get to know people from different walks of life and this creates a wider circle in which people ’s interaction and reliance on each other increase. However, I would agree with the people who opine that modernization has made us free and less reliant on others. In most countries, young children are trying to support their education and living costs. After a certain age, they prefer to stay own their own house. The number of nuclear and single-parent families proves that people are less reliant on others. We are free to pick the school, travel to other countries and make our choices for most of the major events in our life including picking our life partners. The progress of technology has made us more self-reliant and we love to take advantage of modern tools and devices to make things of our own. For instance, many people these days pick an online lesson than getting admitted to a training institute. Many of us even have the freedom to work from home and this is a paradigm shift in the way we earn our living. Finally, the gender equality and women empowerment movements have greatly made women free from others reliance and self-dependent and this has all been possible only recently. In conclusion, though some people think that the modern era is the time when we are more reliant on each other, I personally believe that we are more free and self-reliant instead.