In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Food is essential for every creature to survive. However, although agriculture has become more and more advanced, there are a lot of individuals all over the world still suffering from hunger. There appear to be two main causes of this, and several possible solutions, as I will elaborate on below. Perhaps the main cause of this problem is unequal food distribution. Even though food production increases, people in many areas cannot gain fair access to agricultural output, so they lack food supplies and nutrients. Taking Asmat district in Papua located in Indonesia, many children have experienced malnutrition due to limited access to nutritious food supplies. As a result, around 70 children passed away. In addition, extreme climate changes such as drought and flooding frequently disturb food manufacturing. This led to crop failure and no food supplies that could be distributed to the society it could result in widespread famine. Regarding potential solutions, probably the main remedy would be to enhance the access to transport and infrastructures to ensure the distribution of food is more prevalent. Tiongkok, for instance, has invested in developing roads, railways, and food distribution centres in the countryside. These improvements make food supplies easier to deliver to the communities. Another solution may be to develop sustainable agriculture which is environmentally friendly to face climate change. For example, Netherlands is well-known for its hydroponic and aeroponic farming methods which enable farmers to plant vegetables and others without using soil. Farmers in the Netherlands use these methods to improve food security to face climate change, with more efficient yields in a limited space. In conclusion, it seems that unequal distribution of food and alterations related to humidity are the key factors behind food insecurity. Moreover, establishing sustainable farming and improving basic systems and services such as transportation would be a possible solution to tackle this problem.