Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that if museums charge visitors an entry fee, this brings benefits. Meanwhile, there are several downsides. In my opinion, despite this, I believe the benefits outweigh the negatives. To begin with, the first disadvantage of museums charging an admission fee is that it may not be an attractive choice for everyone. This is because there are some people such as low-income people might not be able to afford to pay for tickets. As a result, they will be less likely to choose visiting museums as an option for recreational activity. Secondly, if there is no entry fee for museums, some museums administration might be forced to face some negative outcomes. The reason for this is that museums might not find sufficient funds to cover running costs such as air-conditioning and lighting maintenance. Consequently, these museums might be shut down. Having said that, the first perk of charging visitors an admission fee is that it can significantly improve the quality of service these museums provide. This is based on the fact that the museum’s staff will be more likely to receive higher salaries, and, this indeed, will make them keen on providing better services for those who are interested in visiting museums. What is more, the revenues generated from admission can be used in covering the running costs and using the latest technology to enhance the experience of visiting such places. For example, many museums in Europe use Hologram technology in exhibiting their artefacts. As a result, a substantial number of tourists around the world are interested in living such an experience. In conclusion, although there are several problems that an admission fee – brings predominately not attractive to all people and possible museums closure – the benefits it brings such as better pay grades for staff and improving the quality of service are impossible to ignore.