It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

One of the most significant stages in a child's growth is the development of conscience, which is linked to the ability from wrong to true. This skill covered with time and good parenting, and I personally believe that punishment is not a solution for being it. Therefore, I firmly disagree with that opinion. Firstly, to punish a very young juvenile is wrong and unhelpful, as a juvenile they will not understand or be aware of why she or he is being punished. As a result, they might be frightened by the random situations because of the unrecognized punishment, and their memories may trigger unwilling emotions. Conversely, a child can be rewarded for good behaviour and discouraged from bad. A case in point is the reveal of their helpful and polite characteristic features. For instance, parents or teachers can award their apologise sentences if kids have a fight. This solution can be concluded as boosted recognition of children. On the other hand, to help a child learn the differences between right and wrong, families and tutors have notable places. This can be explained by the fact that they are being role models on their own behaviours to kids. For example, children can learn to use profanity from their mother or father, even their teachers. Therefore, adults should provide good role modelling to them. Moreover, if adults encounter bad behaviours from juveniles, they should be calm and avoid punishment solution. Instead, teaching better behaviours has numerous benefits such as improved child development, better mannered, avoiding various bad attitudes to others, etc. Teaching methods in a positive way allows to children feel safer and happier than strict rules or prohibitions. In conclusion, while punishment has substantial negatives such as affecting children's behaving or hindering their freedom, providing good parenting or being helpful to juveniles has more benefits. I wholeheartedly believe that the physical nature of abuse is not a great quick fix to learn the differences between right and wrong at an early age. Finally, teaching good behaviour will be more effective in the long term.