In some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

In today fast-paced life, young people are predisposed to a better life with the adequacy of material possessions and a longer life span. However, when they are asked to rate their happiness on a certain scale, the result is astonishingly low. The core of this problem can stem from the rat race in which everyone only aims for money as their life goal. There is sufficient evidence to infer that the young generation is struggling with a more hectic and overwrought life. While the young have earned much more money compared to their predecessors, they still have to cope with more pressure to make ends meet as well as taking care of their parents. Consequently, even though they can get a higher income, they don’t feel delighted at all since they are forced to sacrifice their youth to work non-stop. In another case when young people have already fulfilled the material desire, it is a psychological effect that due to their lack of targets, they live aimlessly without joy and hope. To tackle this problem, the governments have taken some steps to help increase the happiness rate of the people. More and more recreational activities are organized and held together with the cooperation of psychologists and therapists to give young people a respite from their unhappy state. In addition, the encouragement and care from the family are extremely helpful in the young’s emotional life. After all, I suggest that parents should care more about the kids’ feelings by asking whether they feel exhausted or have something to confide in rather than anticipating them to achieve more goals or giving a better performance. Furthermore, the matter may lie in the young themselves. They should consider which things they actually want to do instead of following the other’s dream and firstly, write down the wishlists and plans so they can maintain their motivations and feel more orientated in a society full of chaos. All in all, young people should put their genuine happiness above the unrealistic temptations as they still have a long way to go.