Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

As the convenience and being time -saving of typing, handwriting is becoming less popular nowadays. Schoolers aren’t required to be as professional in handwriting as they were in the past. This development allows children to have more time to explore and learn other necessary skills for their life but has some drawbacks too. Considering both sides, the benefits are outweighed by disadvantages, which affect humans’ innate abilities and normal development. On the one hand, concentrating less on handwriting offers humans some benefits. Firstly, when replacing handwriting with other kinds of noting information like typing, recording, etc., students have more time to learn other important skills like social, language, communication skills, which are very important and required in a technological society like today. It is very common when students use their phones in classes to record the lessons to review after school so that they can pay all attention to what the lecturer is saying without having to listening and writing at the same time. Therefore, the quality of lessons is higher and learners can feel more comfortable and less stressed out. On the other hand, the aforementioned advantages are at the expense of greater drawbacks. By spending less time on handwriting, children are losing their innate abilities. The brain engages differently when we write something by hand, opposing to typing on a keyboard or touching the screen, which, according to scientists, helps humans improve memories. Besides, when working with new ideas through handwriting, students retain knowledge better than typing as well as have a more holistic approach to study thanks to the unique physical and multidimensional status of these skills. Because of that, splashing out less time on writing by hand means preventing the full development of children. In conclusion, while the reduction of demands for handwriting in educational places has some advantages in allowing people to adapt to successive advancements, those benefits are eclipsed by the drawbacks due to the decline in the inborn relationship between humans’ brains and handwriting.