Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is true that longer working hours contribute to higher economic growth. However, I think that excessive working hours will do great harm to employees and society, there are other efficient ways to boost the economy such as the application of technology and improvement of management. Prolonged working is not always associated with economic benefits. Extensive research studies have demonstrated that extended hours spent on jobs are closely related to work stress and hurt the quality of life. When people suffer from stress, their concentration decreases rapidly and this slows down their productivity. Because of this, some European countries such as Sweden and Finland value work -life balance. Even though the workers of these countries work the fewest hours per day among all nations around the world, they have a higher gross domestic product. The family time and social life people enjoy after work provide them with sufficient time to and recreate and therefore they experience less work strain. There are other important methods to improve economic output. For example, companies can introduce new technology to improve working efficiency and reduce work intensity, such as mechanical robots. Applying high-tech machines can not only reduce the cost of hiring manual workers but also largely increase the number of products that the companies can produce. It gives rise to a growth in the overall productivity. Also, we can improve collaboration efficiency by improving management, thereby increasing overall productivity. In conclusion, I believe that it is vital to keep work-life balance, and with the deployment of technology and new management methods, we can assure both higher economic return and fewer working hours.