The idea that, besides making profits, enterprises need to have public responsibilities remains a source of controversy

The idea that, besides making profits, enterprises need to have public responsibilities remains a source of controversy. In my opinion, while generating earnings is the top priority of companies, I agree that they should conduct their businesses in a socially responsible manner. Firstly, the effort of companies to make money can benefit the whole society. The higher the profits earned by enterprises, the more taxes they have to pay. As a result, authorities can have more financial resources to support key fields such as health care and education, which elevate the quality of life of the whole community. Moreover, the more earnings they make, the more necessary for them to grow their businesses. Consequently, they will need to hire more employees, which can help people have jobs and reduce the situation of poverty in society. Secondly, there are strong reasons why enterprises should have responsibilities to the community. The first reason is that their activities can have a negative impact on the environment. Without controls, production processes may result in serious environmental degradation such as global warming stemming from factory emissions or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. The second reason is that by taking responsibility with the community, not only do they show care for people around, but they can also improve their companies’ image. For example, a company doing charity at undeveloped province can help people dealing with the struggle. It can also make the company be loved more by the public. In conclusion, although I recognize that making profits is the fundamental principle of companies, I would argue that all businesses should reflect upon their social responsibilities.