Studying abroad is thought by many students to be the best way to get a good education. On the other hand, some students believe that studying in another country has many drawbacks.

It is argued by some students whether studying overseas is beneficial for them to get access to a good education or it is still plagued by numerous demerits that should not be overlooked. Although the latter view can be true to some extent, in my opinion, the former view seems to be more reasonable on account of some reasons below. On the one hand, there are several explanations why advocates support the side that pursuing overseas education has many drawbacks. First of all, it is believed that studying in an exotic country, students may find it challenging to deal with cultural differences, even cultural shock in the first stage. This means that international students are likely to suffer from psychological problems, thus negatively affecting their academic performance. Besides, there is no doubt that the expenses for studying abroad are much more prohibitively expensive than domestic education. Therefore, such a choice can put a financial burden on some families, especially those who have a mid-range income. On the other hand, I am in favour of the view that the optimal way to get a high-quality education is to study in another foreign country owing to some arguments. The first one is that educational systems in developed nations such as Finland, Australia or the USA are supposed to be by far better than those in developing or underdeveloped counterparts. This is because those developed nations have made many significant breakthroughs in technological domains as well as adopted innovative ideas in teaching and learning. Consequently, students who can have an opportunity to study there can be better educated by knowledgeable lecturers and supported by state-of-the-art technologies. In addition, despite the cross-border differences regarding cultures and traditions which international students may struggle to overcome these difficulties for a short period of time, the majority of them, indeed, still succeed in adapting to life in an exotic country. In conclusion, I am more inclined to the view that studying overseas is the best way to have a good education, yet its downside should not be ignored. However, the aforementioned drawbacks seem not to be major concerns as they can be easily handled.