People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, it has become increasingly common that people watch TV series and movies alone rather than with others. Unlike it used to be in the past. While there are several advantages of this development, I believe that the disadvantages are more significant. To begin with, the first advantage of people watching multimedia alone is that it might allow them to watch the contents they like. This is because some people prefer to watch certain content not everyone likes. For example, some people prefer to watch the horror movies genre, and their family, for instance, might not share the same preference of liking horror movies. Secondly, from a personal respective, this development might cause people to feel a sense of flexibility. The reason for this is that if someone prefers to watch TV series alone, they can pause the show if they are busy, or watch it whenever they wish on a mobile phone for example. With that in mind, they would not interfere with others who would be watching TV with them. Having said that, the first disadvantage of this trend is if people keep watching multimedia alone, they are more likely to become significantly less social. In other words, spending time with family or friends while watching TV is worthwhile as these gatherings encourage people to discuss and argue with each other a lot. Unlike, if someone is watching TV alone, they will likely develop depression from this continuous loneliness. What is more, there are some people such as children and students who must not be allowed to watch whatever they like alone. This is due to the fact that there is some sensitive content that is not suitable for their age. As a result, without the guidance of their parents, these young people can be harmed from the effect of inappropriate content they are exposed to alone. In conclusion, although there are several benefits that watching TV alone – brings predominately watching desired content freely and personal flexibility- the problems it brings such as people become less-sociable and harmful effect on youngsters from inappropriate contents are impossible to ignore.