Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some that the main environmental problems today revolve around fauna and flora whereas others disagree and assert that there are other concerning ecological challenges. I am an advocate of the latter as climate change and global warming have created alarming concerns in the modern contemprary society. To begin with, plants and animals are major elements to the continuation of the natural ecological cycle. In other words, the humankind depend on these for their survival. However, human activities have played a major role for the depletion of fauna and flora from the natural atmosphere. For example, deforestation, farming and using chemicals on seeds and plants are among many others which are unethical within the habitat. Hence, if these species extinct, the loss will be immense as people depend on them for survival, medicine, agriculture and many more. The alternative view is that there are more prominent global issues such as global warming and climate change. Thus, these are infact inflict major environmental issues owing to the fact that if not controlled all species on earth will be endangered. Based on a research conducted by the scientists in the United States, it was found that the global tempreture is rising at a rapid space that in the last 150 years. If this continues world will face calamaties such as rising sea levels, shrinking moutain glaciers and faster ice melting in Greenland, and Arctic regions. Therefore, the impact will be substantial for the humankind. In conclusion, although species and plants are a part of the environmental issues, global warming and climate change are pivotal issues in the current context. Therefore, I strongly believe that more and more focus should be given to tackle the latter so that all species could survive in the longterm.