Nowadays, the traditions and customs relating to the food we eat and the way we eat are changing. Why is this happening? Do you think this kind of change is positive or negative?

These days, food traditions and eating habits are changing because of several reasons, including immigration and the development of the Internet. From my perspective, these changes can be positive, as cultures from abroad can be introduced to others, whereas local culture might be weakened. Owing to immigration and the widespread use of the Internet, food customs and eating habits have become significantly different from before. Firstly, immigrants often bring their traditional foods to the places where they stay. In the beginning, they may not be used to local flavours; therefore, they cook cuisines from their own cultures. As time goes by, this food can be shared with neighbours and change residents' appetites. As for the Internet, the widespread availability of information about foreign food may lead people to cook or try different types of dishes. In my opinion, these differences can be seen as a positive development. By tasting different flavours from other parts of the world, people can learn not only about new cooking skills but also about new ingredients and spices. Moreover, individuals are able to understand other cultures more deeply. However, there are still a few drawbacks, such as the decrease in cultural differences. Therefore, people may end up eating the same kinds of food due to changes in eating habits. To conclude, the causes of changes in food traditions and eating habits nowadays are immigration and the development of the Internet. Because of this, locals are more easily able to understand more about exotic foods and further change the way they eat. Even though there are still a few disadvantages, such as cultural differences gradually disappearing, I believe it is a positive change for society, as it can lead residents to learn about other cultures.