More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, the majority prefers private vehicles as the main option for transportation. Although this development brings a lot of benefits, there are a lot of detrimental effects for the environment and the society as well such as air pollution and the high rate of mortality due to car crashes. Of course, there is a range of various strategies to solve these problems, yet the promotion of other types of transport such as bicycles by the government can be considered as the simplest way to sort out this problem. To start with, most of the vehicles work on petroleum, diesel or gas; consequently, they produce toxic fumes which render air more poisonous for the environment; additionally, it may lead to the extinction of some species or respiratory issues of dwellers. For instance, the air quality in some Chinese cities is detrimental for human beings, therefore people should wear masks. Secondly, most people believe that the most dangerous type of transport is using aeroplanes, yet that is a misconception. Accidents on the road and car crashes claim the greatest number of lives in comparison with other categories of transport. For instance, according to the 'PPX' (Azerbaijani police) statistics, about 100 people die annually due to car accidents. To solve these crucial problems, the government can introduce some laws which would encourage society people to use engineless types of transport such as bicycles. This development might lead to the reduction of vehicles on roads that can minimise the number of accidents there and reduce the impact on the air quality. In the light of the thoughts elaborated upon, it can be concluded that private cars cause some issues such as air pollution and increase of the death rate, that can be overcome by the governmental encouragement of the population to use bicycles instead.