In modern times, children are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Many pupils are spending more time with their friends instead of their families lately. This is due to the advancement of communication devices and platforms, however, I think that pupils should not be forced to spend more time with their families because this can upset them. The development of communication gadgets and social media affects how children spend their time with their families. The proliferation of gadgets such as handphones and laptops makes it easier for children to communicate with their friends. Moreover, with the widespread usage of social media such as Instagram and TikTok, children are most likely to spend more time on their social media to contact their friends. For example, many children are spending their time on the phone to chat or talk to their friends through social media all day long. Although nowadays children are spending less time with their families, I don't think that they should be forced to spend more time at home because it could bother their relationship with their parents. Being forced to spend more time at home will make many children unhappy, and as a result, they will look at their parents angrily. Instead, I believe it is better for parents to start communicating differently with their children with more warmth and different manners. For instance, a recent study found that children with good relationships with their parents, will likely have lower rates of daily screen time. To conclude, many pupils are spending more time with their friends rather than their family because of the advancement of telecommunication devices and media. Nonetheless, they should not be forced to spend more time at home because this can make them unhappy with their families.