Nuclear power is a necessary evil. Despite the potential human and environmental consequences of radioactive fallout, nuclear energy is a genuine alternative to non-renewable energy sources like oil and coal, which are quickly running out. In short, the benefits of nuclear far outweigh the risks of using it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, nuclear power is considered an indispensable source of energy as it is a reasonable replacement of other growingly depleting sources such as oil and coal. Nevertheless, nuclear energy poses some potential hazards to human safety and the environment due to leakage and explosion. From my point of view, I only partially agree with the use of nuclear energy given the fact that the boons of nuclear energy hardly outweigh its shortcomings. On the one hand, nuclear power surely is cheaper to operate and much more continuous than other unrenewable sources. Although the government spends an enormous number of funds on initial construction, it is cost-effective in the operating phase and does not require any further materials. Moreover, nuclear power plants output lots of energy at a constant rate, making them an ideal option for baseload electricity. Compared with the unreliability of solar or wind power, nuclear energy offers an eternal production and relies on few unpredictable factors like the weather. On the other hand, nuclear power presents an inevitable risk of radiation leakage and explosion that lays a long-lasting effect on humans and the environment. Taking the Hiroshima attack in Japan as an example, a radioactive fallout of nuclear plants destroyed the whole city and took away millions of people’s lives, emitting a range of extremely virulent chemical substances. Furthermore, because of the amount of toxic left in the water sources or vegetation ground these days, they suffer from a range of chronic health issues, such as cardiovascular diseases, cancer or body deformity. In conclusion, despite the terribly destructive force of nuclear power, it is undeniable that its benefits offer great opportunities for humans’ exploitation of a more economical and sustainable energy source. In the upcoming years, it is expected that people will be able to manage a safe management system of nuclear power all the while taking most advantage of it.