Because of the rising cost of housing, many young people are increasingly being forced to live with their parents into their 30s. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

There are discussions whether children should stay with their family for a long time or they should leave as soon as they grow up. Rents and house prices have being constantly increasing, which forces people in their 30’s to stay at their family homes for longer. In this essay, I will discuss some advantages and drawbacks of this situation and why, even though, there are pros and cons, in my opinion is more beneficial to stay at home until you become a full adult. Live with their parents until a grown up age is not always the best option. People that stay at home for longer, usually lack of maturity. Some, might have difficulty to actually grow and assume responsibilities of an adult because they were spoiled with mom’s food and tidying the house for them for too long. There is also the need of privacy for parents and children, which, living in the same household is something not always possible to get, especially, depending on how much the parents want their kids to stay in their nest. On the other hand, it is possible to save a fair amount of money while you stay under their umbrella, and with that, is possible to build their own patrimony for the future which could not be done if there was the need of buying a house when someone has not worked for a period long enough to do so. Thus, there is also a lower pressure of career choosing, since there are no bills that need to be paid, neither the need of making money to sustain a family of their own. Despite that, is possible to learn many things from parents from seeing how they live and what they do good to keep harmony and bring child to the world with a good character. However, there are some disadvantages, the benefits of staying in their parent’s home are enormous. In my opinion, people can stay at their parents until they had fully grown as a person, and have the stability to build their own.