What are the pros and cons of using public transportation?

In the past few decades, government's have decided to invest more in their modes of public transportation to provide cheaper modes of travelling. Nonetheless, a few people believe that public transport has more drawbacks than benefits. This essay will delve into the reason why some individuals think this way. On one hand, the biggest benefit of using public transport is that it is inexpensive. For instance, a survey conducted by Singapore's Mass Rapid Transport (SMRT) in 2019, has stated that around 90% of Singapore's population use public transport because of cheaper fares. Furthermore, subways and buses also offer special discounts for students and the elderly to make sure they too can afford to commute via government transport. Therefore, it is clear that most of the public use public transport to save money and this is one of the biggest advantages to using such a form of transport. On the other hand, one reason people avoid using government-owned rails and buses is that they are notorious for their crowd during peak hours. For example, a study conducted by Harvard University in 2018, has concluded that 76% of commuters avoid most forms of public transport because they are unable to find any seats during peak hours. In addition, this can be troublesome for pregnant women as well as the elderly folk who find it hard to commute by metros for long periods of time. Hence, it is apparent that a major drawback to people not using public transport is due to the lack of seating facilities onboard the vehicle, as a result, these individuals refrain from using these services. In conclusion, a few reasons why one likes public transport is due to their cheap ticket prices, on the contrary, a few dislike using it due to the crowd onboard these modes of transport during peak hours. After thorough analysis on the subject, it is clear that the advantages of using public modes of transport outweigh the disadvantages.