Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There are many people who believe that the bulk of the population doesn't pay attention to the sense behind cultural events and individuals only focus on how to entertain themselves during these special occasions. Actually, I agree with this point of view, as I have observed the importance of traditional or religious events diminishing in recent years. In my opinion, the main reason is that many people prefer to take holidays during these special days rather than spend time with their elder family members. To begin with, it is undeniable that the modern way of life has changed the perceptions of traditions and religions. Although customs and beliefs are the main fundamentals of the culture of a population, contemporary lifestyles inhibit - restrict this heritage significantly. For example, recent researches show that many adolescent not following any religion or do not have a belief for a creator,unlike their families. So they do not willing to celebrate those special occasions and as a result the cultural heritage gets weakened markedly. In addition, another reason I believe that people miss the cultural importance of these occasions, is that many workers want to spend their holiday time to unwind from their stressful work life. Generally, religious festivals are also public holidays in many countries so many citizens who work a regular schedule prefer to spend their days off relaxing. For example in Turkey, in general, an employee has only 14 annual leave days in a year, but on the other hand, there are 7 to 10 public holidays in a calendar year. Many workers prefer to combine public holidays and annual leave to take longer vacations and are not able to celebrate the religious festivals as their parents do. As a result, young generations do not have a chance to learn the customs of their country. In conclusion, I agree with the viewpoint of missing the importance behind special occasions and I believe that the main reason is that contemporary lifestyles override traditional cultures. The sad part here is that by not observing special occasions the long term outcome could cause a nation to fall apart.