Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance? Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

One very complex issue in today’s society is the funding of museums and art galleries. Some say that they should be free of charge to the general public and funded by governments while others think they should charge an entrance fee like other attractions. Advocates of the first idea may argue that art-related institutions are public service institutions, which have been built with the money paid by taxpayers, therefore some believe that they should be free of charge to pay back the society. In addition, with no entrance expense, more citizens can be encouraged to learn about art and history. This means that arts are more available for the public, it is no longer something to be enjoyed by a privileged few. However, others may believe otherwise. Firstly, museums and galleries indeed need funds to maintain management and update exhibitions. The support should come from visitors rather than governments since they do not have sufficient funds to subsidise all such institutions and there are other priorities for public money. In addition, museums and galleries need to charge a certain amount of fees to control the flow of visitors so that the risks of damaging the exhibitions will be reduced. In conclusion, a possible compromise would be for the museums and galleries to charge a reasonable amount of fee during peak seasons in order to maintain regular management and for safety concerns. However, when it comes to off-season, they should be opened free of charge to the public so that more visitors can access art.