In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this case? What can be done about this problem?

The recent progress in agricultural technology has allowed a considerable number of people to gain access to food. However, there is still a population that has suffered from destitution. This essay addresses the reasons for this phenomenon and solutions for dealing with this problem. The primary reason why plenty of people continuously faces poverty is that the world's overall population has increasingly grown. With the economic growth in developing countries, their populations have surged to gain labour workers, resulting in a serious shortage of food. For example, Indonesia's population has drastically increased; however, domestic agricultural businesses are no longer able to catch up to the public's consumption. Furthermore, the devastation of infrastructure prevents the establishment of a successful supply chain. Some places such as conflict zones lack fundamental facilities, which make food producers harder to deliver their food to customers. There are two possible solutions. First of all, the government can conduct restrictions on overpopulation. To reduce the poverty rate caused by the growing population, the government can enforce legislation to control the population. This is well exemplified by China. China set the regulation that families can give birth to only one child, which served reduction of population. Besides, NGOs and international volunteer bodies can bring food to isolated areas. For suffering people who do not have an access to food, NGOs and volunteer workers can provide provisions. In conclusion, I believe the food scarcity has occurred due to the growing population and the lack of accessibility to food. To tackle this problem, the government can take action for regulating the population, and NGOs and volunteers can assist people who are in remote areas by delivering food.