Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals assume that there is nothing in history that can benefit the human's life as the modern society differs significantly in comparison with past ones; however, others believe that the past comprises valuable information to explore human's life as every new generation tends to repeat mistakes of previous ones. Both points of view will be discussed in this essay; additionally, I will give my opinion. On the one hand, every new generation of people brings something new which usually can be rejected by the older generation: starting with the style of clothes and finishing with the response in the particular occasion. Even the Russian writer Turgenev chose this problem as the base for his novel 'Fathers and Sons'. Hence, there is nothing that can be learned from the past by today's people. On the other hand, people are not robots, therefore they tend to do mistakes even though their lives can be absolutely various. Most of the time these errors may occur in repetitive patterns; in other words, some mistakes can be permanent for the societies regardless of age. For instance, the world war occurred twice in human history, as it seems that governments of some countries ignored mistakes of the past; as a result, they repeated them again. Hence, it is necessary for citizens around the world to use history as a source of information to understand better human life. In the light of the thoughts elaborated upon, I would like to conclude that although modern society faces lots of innovations which do not have anything in common with the past, there are still some occasions where generations of people have been doing mistakes since the beginning of human history.