Some feel that tourism endangers culture while others feel it is beneficial. DIscuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In our modern day and age, many people are able to travel for leisure reasons. Touristic destinations have become crowded and devoted most of their activities to serve visitors which made some people think that tourism has negatively impacted their local culture while others believe it has a positive impact on their economy and employment. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and give my opinion. Popular travel destinations such as the south of France and Greece thrive on touristic seasons which creates employment opportunities for individuals in local hotels and restaurants. Moreover, the local government benefit financially from the profits made from museums and local attraction sites which help in the maintenance of these attraction sites and the infrastructure of the city to properly accommodate the visitor's needs. However, while tourism can bring in profits for the local society, it can cause harm to the community and its culture. For example, in Andalusia,Spain, the local dance and music in most parts of the region have transformed to modern style in order to please tourists and unfortunately, the background history of such traditional dances is mostly ignored. Additionally, some tourists litter or disrespect the rules and local customs which disturbs the locals and harms the environment in these cities. In conclusion, visiting new places and experiencing different cultures widen our horizons and connect us with other nations. I believe that tourism is a blessing that we should appreciate and enjoy in a balanced way without causing harm to the local citizens and their homelands. Local authorities should make efforts to preserve their customs and traditions and present them to visitors. Also, visitors who disrespect the laws should be fined and possibly banned from the country.