Some educationalists think that international exchange will benefit to teenagers at the school. To what extent advantages of this outweigh disadvantages.

Some professors say that foreign exchange will be beneficial for adolescents at the school. This essay will explain that the benefits of exposure to different cultures and languages outweigh the drawbacks of homesickness. To begin with, the international exchange program provides the opportunity to teens to visit a different country. They get the chance to meet new people from a different culture and learn a new language by interacting with new people. This broadens their horizon of thinking and they acquire a new language skill which is helpful when they apply for a job or tertiary level education. For example, in a recent article by The Tribune newspaper, students who returned from other English speaking nations are more fluent in speaking English compared to others who did not visit any other country. Looking at the negative side of an international exchange programs, some adolescents feel homesick. As teens are not mature enough at school-age to live alone, they still feel homesickness when they are away from their loved ones. For instance, according to a study at the University of Toronto, 1 in 5 adolescents who visit any other nation under an international exchange program feel homesickness and leave the university before finishing their education. However, these days, due to the cutting edge technology and availability of the internet everywhere, this is not a major issue as students can talk to their parents or guardians any time using different applications like WhatsApp. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages like feeling alone in another country, however, advantages of getting experience of a foreign culture and a language way outweigh the drawbacks.