People these days watch TV, films and other programes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It has been pointed out that nowadays people have been changing their ways of watching TV programs or movies from with their friends and families to alone. Personally, I opine that this situation brings out several dangerous problems in terms of personal skills and mental and emotional issues compared to one benefit it might bring. Admittedly, watching TV shows alone increases individuals’ quality of life. This is because TV - watchers are able to appreciate any content regarding their interests and hobbies, thus contributing more convenience and ease to their lives. A vast majority of housewives say that they had to watch sports games that they did not interest in with their husbands previously. However, due to their lifestyle changes currently, they can binge on dramas that are their favourite shows, which leads to freedom for them. Nevertheless, despite the benefit above, I believe that individuals are facing a huge number of dangerous detriments from watching TV alone. Firstly, this trend reduces people’s communication opportunities with their relatives and friends, which impairs individuals’ communication skills. Besides, if those who watch TV shows alone do not have a considerable amount of time to talk about with their friends and family members, they will lack intimacy and connection and feel lonely, thus raising devastating emotional and mental problems. As an illustration, most office-workers living alone in modern cities state that they are suffering from serious emotional issues nowadays since they do not have friends and siblings who can share their happiness and difficulties. They also feel that their social skills are no longer strong as fewer people they can interact with. In conclusion, although enjoying TV programmes alone has one minor advantage, a massive proportion of obvious drawbacks with regard to social skills and health problems should be taken into account.