Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The impact of human activities on the environment has been increasing at an alarming rate. Some people say that individuals have no role in improving the environment, only corporates and government can make a difference. I disagree with this view and believe that an individual's actions can make a considerable difference, and will give reasons for the same in the essay. Firstly, the acts of humans are the major reason for increasing pollution and harming the environment. Humans can do their bit by taking decisions in their day-to-day lives which will not harm the environment like using public transport or bicycles instead of private vehicles for traveling. For instance, In Amsterdam, when people started using bikes to reach offices, a noticeable reduction in air pollution was reported within 6 months. Moreover, wastage and usage of water and electricity at their houses can be controlled which can make a huge positive impact. Secondly, many products that we use are proven to be detrimental to the environment and ecosystem, like plastic and those made using animals' skin. Individuals can make a choice of substituting these harmful materials and using more environmentally friendly products, like replacing plastic bags with jute bags. Those who adopt this practice may also encourage their family and friends to do so. For example, one of my friends at her wedding, ditched the traditional paper invitation and rather replaced it with an invitation made from recycled paper and also distributed plant saplings as a gift along with the invite. To conclude, though the steps taken by the government and large organizations have a major impact on the environment, however, the considerable difference can be seen if an individual makes the right choices and uses the right products in their everyday lives.