Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, traffic congestion and accidents have become a topic of interest for the global public. Numerous people claim that governments should invest more money in improving railways in order to address the problems that we are facing. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement and suggest that governments should also pay attention to the current road system. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the erection of modern railway networks contributes greatly to the convenience and lives of citizens as well as the community. Trains are faster than cars, given that they use separate tracks and are capable of running at high speed which ensures they will not be affected by traffic congestion. Consequently, people can reach their desired location more quickly which saves them a great amount of time for other work. Additionally, trains have more space for not only passengers but also cargo and goods, which decreases the usage of road-based transportation. For example, a single train is capable of transporting the same number of passengers and goods as 20 cars or trucks. As a result, the number of road-based transportation will drop, leading to fewer emissions and air pollution, which has an advantageous impact on communal health. On the other hand, I believe that governments should also improve the current road system. In several developing countries, building and upgrading railways will put a strain on their national budget as this task requires an enormous amount of funding. Thus, improving roads and current traffic systems is a more suitable measure for these nations to enable their citizens to commute more effortlessly. In conclusion, it is undeniable that upgrading railways play a vital role in addressing traffic-related concerns. Nonetheless, I advocate that for some nations, developing traditional roads is more beneficial.