Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, more and more people have started to care greatly about their health by playing sports. In addition, more individuals have started to place more importance on sports in the school curriculum however, there are a few who think that sports should be optional. In my opinion, I disagree that sports should be an essential part of the syllabus. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument On one hand, students must take part in sports to keep healthy and active. For instance, a study conducted by Harvard University in 2019, has concluded that when students play sports like football, badminton or volleyball, the percentage of testosterone, which is a hormone, increases significantly as a result increasing their immunity as well as activeness levels by 67%. Furthermore, when students are active they are more likely to perform better in their academics. Therefore, it is clear that when pupils are subjected to physical exercise, their testosterone levels increase which in turn make them healthier and more active. On the other hand, when sports becomes an essential part of a child's life, they might end up neglecting their studies. For example, a survey conducted by the New York Times in 2019, has stated that 78% of pupils attending an institute of learning were unable to manage their time efficiently, thereby, causing them to achieve lower test scores than their peers on tests. Not only did they perform poorer on tests but also ended up becoming stressed. Hence, it is apparent that when schoolchildren are made to play sports, they lose track of time causing them to neglect their education. In conclusion, when kids are made to play sports there are a few benefits and drawbacks with the former being increased immunity and fitness levels while the latter being not having enough time for education. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I can conclude that the disadvantages of making sports an essential subject outweigh the advantages. Nevertheless, this can be corrected if kids are taught how to manage their time properly.