Due to poorer countries experiencing a “brain drain” they are seeing many professionals such as doctors and teachers leaving to work in more developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can be suggested to deal with this situation?

Globally, the sharpest of the minds are increasingly migrating to developed countries. This is extremely common in poorer countries, where the highly qualified professionals looking for better career opportunities, can be seen relocating to developed nations. This essay will focus on the main issues that this migration leads to and provide possible solutions to handle such a crisis. When the bright minds decide to move out of their own country, it leaves behind a wide intellectual gap that otherwise, the home country would have benefitted from immensely. For example, in India, the ratio of professors by students in educational institutes is abysmally low because of which, the quality of knowledge imparted to the students is not world-class. As a result, the aspiring students often miss out on gaining certain skillsets which are otherwise essential to succeed in the corporate world. Secondly, doctors leaving behind their shores for seeking better avenues, exacerbate further, the nation’s crumbling healthcare system. For instance, a number of doctors from India have moved to the United States post which, the quality of healthcare provided in government-run hospitals has deteriorated. Hence, the lack of quality education imparted to the next generation as well as the medical system becoming more vulnerable are some of the key concerns that arise out of brain drain. To begin with, the government has to incentivise highly qualified professionals.To illustrate, monetary rewards for the doctors and the teachers can be a step forward to hold them back. Furthermore, sufficient investment is required in research and development at higher education institutes where these bright minds can devote their intellectual skills and gain a sense of fulfilment for themselves. For instance, many universities and medical colleges can tie-up with foreign universities and have exchange programs for their professionals, which will allow them to pursue their career interests without the need for any immigration. Thus, monetary benefits and investment in research and development can help nations solve this crisis. To conclude, brain drain is a cause of grave concern for a majority of the poorer and the developing countries. This essay highlighted the key impacts that it leads to that includes, intellectual gap and crumbling healthcare. This essay also provided solutions to address this, which are twofold: sufficient monetary gains for skilled professionals and government expenditure on research and development.