Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

In this day and age, an increasing number of developing countries are paying more heed to the promotion and expansion of the travel industry. While this trend may facilitate the evolution of nations, I subscribe to the contention that its downsides will overshadow the upsides. My essay will shed light on the causes and adverse impacts of this tendency. There are two primary reasons for governments to develop the tourism sector. Firstly, the expansion of this industry will generate a multitude of professional opportunities for local people, which would be a contributing factor to a decrease in the unemployment rates. Accordingly, this is deemed to act as an impediment to the escalation of the crime rates in some inner-city areas. Equally important, a well-developed tourism industry is supposed to make a substantial contribution to the national economic growth. As a result, the government can seize a chance to enhance residents’ living standards and allocate budgets for tackling social issues, namely infrastructure deterioration or environmental degradation. On the negative side, this phenomenon can give rise to an array of undesirable influences on the development of some countries. First and foremost, a sheer influx of tourists can be the culprit of environmental contamination and destruction. This is because the release of a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide due to the overuse of transportation will pose a threat to the fresh air. Another consequence of this trend that is worth mentioning is the depletion of natural resources. An explanation is that there is a need for local authorities to destroy forests and overexploit land resources to accommodate the invasion of tourists. In conclusion, there is little room for doubt that the expansion of tourism might be caused by various reasons. Although the merits of this trend are evident, I hold a firm belief that its demerits are of greater importance.