Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is this most popular question today among the people, whether our past teaches us something or it is meant to be forgotten? There are a group of people who believe that history helps in understanding human's life, whereas others claim that the past does not teach us anything useful for our present life. In this essay we will discuss both the opinions and I will give my viewpoint. To begin with, history plays a very crucial role in informing us about our life's. It gives us an opportunity to look into the mistakes made, the consequences of those mistakes and take an informed decision based on those learnings. For instance, the knowledge about the impacts that the world wars have had on the world has made the present generation aware that war will not alleviate the problems, rather it will worsen the situation. Moreover, studying the gender inequality and the discrimination faced by women and people, from backward classes, in the past, has made people understand that it was unfair and unjust and the same should not be practised further. On the contrary, some situations of the past cannot be compared to the present situations and therefore it would be illogical to set them as precedents and keep following them. There are customs and practices which were of some importance in the past but are redundant and unpractical today. For instance, earlier in India, women used to do household chores and men used to earn the bread and butter, however, now with both of them working, this age-old practice should be changed and both should equally take accountability for the domestic work. In conclusion, in my opinion, there is no doubt that history is a very prized source of information for the development of the world at large, be it for maintaining peace or for new research, however, there are some aspects of the past which are no longer relatable to the present, should be overlooked.