Many school children today take part in work experience sessions for short periods of time instead of attending school. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Providing hands-on experience to school children for a short span has become immensely popular these days. Some people criticize these trends while others support them. However, from my perspective, the merits of these activities outweigh the demerits significantly. To begin with, these work field engagements are beneficial for students in several ways. Firstly, it gives children practical exposure which aids them to understand the technicalities of numerous subjects. In other words, things taught in schools are very theoretical in nature, whereas these platforms give students an opportunity to understand the science and mechanics behind theories they learn at school. For instance, youngsters usually appreciate a visit to museums and factories as they gain a plethora of knowledge in a more fun way. Moreover, such short expedition trips are extremely crucial for school kids as it makes them more confident and prepares them for the real world. In other words, some school folks are afraid of working, but these temporary sessions are designed in a way in which one becomes comfortable, and it also gives them an idea about which career will be useful for them in the future. For example, according to a study conducted at the University of Melbourne, it was reported that students ought to learn significantly more from fieldwork involvements than academic studies. On the other hand, giving hands-on experiences has some adverse effects as well. Primarily, it is a time-consuming process and it eats up 5 to 7 days of school education; consequently, resulting in poor academic results. Furthermore, getting admission to a good university is a rat race today, and it negatively impacts the scores of children. To conclude, in my opinion, the advantages of short working sessions are far more than its disadvantages, and it is definitely a positive approach.