Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the last few years, alternative forms of medicine have been growing in popularity. There are opponents of this trend as they do not bring benefits or are even harmful to humans. However, I entirely disagree with this view and think that these methods can be beneficial for our health. Firstly, alternative medicine can be more effective than modern medications in some cases. Human bodies are complex and there is a multitude of factors that are involved in causing a certain condition. There are, for this reason, cases where synthetic drugs do not improve a person's medical condition, which requires the use of other non-conventional methods of treatment. In Japan, for instance, some patients have cured cancer by using natural therapy, where they are treated with organic foods and Chinese traditional herbal medicines. With regard to the risks to using alternative medicine, they are significantly lower than that of modern medicine. Although the effects of western medications are generally strong, they are accompanied by strong side effects. Alternative methods are, on the other hand, much milder in their side effects as they emphasise the natural healing power that the human body has. Therefore, the likelihood of having negative consequences using these methods are small compared to conventional methods. A good example of this is the treatment for some types of cancer with synthetic drugs, where patients suffer from nausea and the falling of their hair. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that alternative medicine is ineffective and dangerous. It is crucial that health care systems incorporate a variety of treatment methods in order to cater for diverse medical conditions.