In order to be successful in sport, some people think you have to be physically strong. Others say that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no denying that sport is popular among all age groups. People are divided in their opinion regarding the importance of psychological and physiological strength in the games. From my point of view, both mental and physical strength plays a major role in an athletes life. First off, a person needs muscularity to complete the requirements of the game. Physical strength defines the eligibility of the person in the game. As an example, in basketball most of the players are tall, which professionally gives them a better chance to jump and score. Similarly, physical strength is important in badminton, as the player will use the power to hit the ball every second for 60 min. The muscles need to be hard and strong in most of the games, which proves muscles are mandatory in the sports. Secondly, the mentality of a person while playing needs to be stable as well. It is very clear by a phrase, slow and steady wins the race. It is said by many trainers around the world that a person who is calm and less nervous leads to the success. One needs to have focus and determination on the task or on the sport which can only come psychologically. Such as, if a player is under pressure, then the goal can be missed, run out of time. Hence, mental strength is important to achieve the success. In conclusion, physical toughness and mental calmness are essential for a sportsperson. I strongly agree an athlete can be successful with both better physical and mental power.