It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree of disagree

The way to spend money on fighting malady has become a controversial topic among the public. It is argued that government money should be invested to encourage a healthy lifestyle to detect ailments rather than treat patients. Personally, I approve of this viewpoint; however, to a certain extent, the treatment for people having frail health should be taken into account. In the first place, I think that an adequate amount of funds should be allocated to examine patients. In fact, it has been shown that there are some diseases and disorders that are hereditary. For example, suppose mom or dad suffers from Fibrosis, Hemophilia, or Sickle cell disease. In that case, their child will likely be diagnosed with blood-related diseases, regardless of their diet or style of living. Since this case mentioned above would be impossible for doctors and invalids to prevent, taxpayers' money needs spending on the treatments. In the second place, I believe that setting aside a large proportion of public money for activities or campaigns that promote a balanced lifestyle is worthwhile. To begin with, people's unhealthy habits contribute directly to sickness. For instance, the risk of numerous ailments, including heart disease, obesity, diabetes, and Cancer, results from high calories, sodium, and saturated fat. Meanwhile, it is exceedingly expensive to ignore prevention. According to CDC, the treatment of two common diseases called diabetes and Cancer cost $245 billion and $216.6 billion per year, respectively. Therefore, these diseases can be prevented when people are made well aware of the severe consequences of an unhealthy diet. Moreover, there are some incurable ailments once we catch them. A salient example can be seen people positive for HIV, AIDS, advanced lung and liver disease. Of course, scientists can prescribe drugs and treatments that can prolong patients' lives who suffer from such conditions. Nonetheless, it is always advisable to have a healthy diet and lifestyle to prevent those sicknesses rather than try to cure them, which places a heavy burden on the family's finance and society's productivity. In conclusion, when each personal life standard is enhanced, a country can end with a flourish. Hence, both treatments and campaigns to prevent ailments are fiercely critical. However, it seems to me that spending more taxpayers' money to focus on raising public awareness of healthy life would be a feasible long-term solution to fight diseases.