It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

These days, dangerous diseases such as cancers, Covid-19 have put a lot of strain on the health care system. It is argued that the government should invest more money in illness prevention rather than in providing treatments for the diseases that have already occurred. Personally, I agree with this notion because a healthy lifestyle is a key to fighting against health problems. Admittedly, it is imperative that the state budget be allocated to activities and campaigns which raise people's awareness about preventing potential health risks as prevention is better than cure. Various ailments nowadays are direct results of unhealthy habits. For example, an unbalanced diet and irregular exercise may lead to obesity, heart attack, diabetes. Moreover, there is a number of incurable diseases such as HIV/AIDS, cancers,... cannot be treated completely by drugs and therapies. However, these maladies can be successfully prevented from occurring by developing healthy habits. Another justification is that raising public awareness towards the role of a healthy lifestyle is absolutely much more economical than taking care of people who already got sick. Working out on a daily basis will result in fewer people visiting hospitals, hence, reduce the budget spent on improving hospital infrastructure and equipment for medical purposes. A study, for instance, shows that each person can save millions of dollars on illness treatment every year by living a healthy life. In conclusion, I believe that spending public money on maintaining habits good for health is more preferable to curing people's sickness. Thus, improving a better lifestyle should be encouraged.