Some people think that the best way to improve road transport safety is to let the driver test each year. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day age, the number of road accidents has increased exponentially the world over only because of reckless driving. Consequently, there has been a growing body of opinion that road transport safety can only be improved by conducting a driving test every year. Being a rational mind, I, too assent to this notion, for I am of the view that this will help drivers to update themselves about the latest rules and regulations, and to check their physical capability for driving. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that deals with the significance of driver testing as a way to test the drivers know about the updated roads’ rules. In other words, governments of every nation try to impose new regulations constantly by charging the old ones in order to increase road safety. So, if drivers could not know the latest laws, it would be impossible for them to obey those statutes. Therefore, drover testing ought to be conducted each year so as to ensure safety. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 95% of drivers can drive properly on roads if they give a yearly exam on driving rules and regulations. Another critical rationale in reference to why drivers should give a test every year is necessarily synonymous with checking their physical fitness. To be more precise, an individual’s health can deteriorate any time down to having some disorders, such as cardiovascular disease, poor eyesight, to name but a few. Thus, if a person could know his physical weakness by giving a driving test, it would surely reduce the chances of accidents. To exemplify, researchers around the world have found that 30% of road accidents occur because of drivers ' heart failure during the driving time. Hence, it is inevitable to check physical well-being at least once a year by giving a driving test. In conclusion, each year, drivers should test their capability with a view to updating themselves about new things and checking their fitness.