it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Children need to distinguish right and wrong from the early stages of their life. It is believed that punishment may make it true but I completely disagree with it. There are 2 reasons why I think the punishment doesn’t work. Firstly, it causes a lot of feelings of horror in children and it would kill their sense of agency, so they can not trust themselves about what they do or think. Secondly, being penalized every time they make a mistake may harm their self-esteem and make them feel they are not good enough. They can not learn from their mistakes and as they grow up, they will not develop their abilities because they are afraid of being punished. I believe that punishment should be replaced by negative reinforcement which is suggested recently by new researchers. When a child does something wrong, it is better to warn him / her at first and if he / she repeats it, then we deprive him / her of anything he / she likes to do. In this way we have taught them what is wrong or right, moreover, they have learned that repeating mistakes have consequences for them and they should be cautious about it. In conclusion, my view is that punishment has been expired these days and it is better for parents and teachers to be aware of new methods of parenting and therefore raise a more confident generation. In fact, it is our responsibility to take care of our children’s mental health and provide a nutritious environment for them. Furthermore, we should keep in mind that everyone has the right to make a mistake.