What are the pros and cons of public transportation?

This past decade had witnessed major development in the sector of public transportation in many countries. Many governments had spent billions of dollars towards the betterment of the standards and expansion of their transit systems. However, some people believe that, there are several advantages and disadvantages to commuting by public means, and this essay discusses the same. To begin with, nowadays, being a car owner is an expensive task, especially with increased insurance costs and sky-rocketed fuel prices. Commuting via trains or buses is highly economical in comparison with the maintenance and running costs of an automobile. Moreover, another merit of using the transit is, the reduced amount of air pollution. For instance, it requires hundreds of cars to carry the same number of passengers that, a train can carry hence, the amount of carbon monoxide emission will be much lesser for a single train in comparison with numerous cars. On the contrary, there are some negative attributes to public transits such as, time and availability. All these vehicles have an operating schedule and routes, thus we will have to follow their time instead of our convenience. For example, buses do not cover all the areas in the city hence, some places are difficult to reach. Additionally, despite having plenty of merits, they have a major role in spreading diseases. This is clearly because of the tight spaces inside these vehicles. To exemplify, the covid-19 pandemic survey shows that, public transports had a major role in spreading the coronavirus. To summarize, even though, transportation by public means is significantly economical and eco-friendly, they still have a major role in spreading diseases and also do not cover remote areas.