Immigration has a huge impact on the society. What are the main causes of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

Since the beginning of history, human beings have travelled across great distances looking for better life and circumstance. Immigration has a large impact on society and is an undeniable factor in everyday life. I have described in this essay some of the causes and effects of this activity. The primary motivation behind leaving one’s land and settling down in another is the urge to find a better environment and better living conditions. The opportunity to make more money and to live luxuriously is a major influence. For example, people from Europe migrated to America in hopes of finding gold and becoming rich. In addition to this, the need to flee from persecution or war is another major reason. Many Syrians moved from their own country to escape the civil strife. Regarding the effects, there are good and good consequences. When countries accept foreigners, their dedication and hard work would benefit the whole nation thereby improving the economy. For instance, during the second world war, the United States of America accepted a massive refugee population from Europe. Which led to most of the technical advancements, thereby making the United States of America a super-power. The negative repercussion is the growing hatred amongst the native-born people towards the incoming population. Some citizens may think that the newcomers are taking their jobs away, while others may be unable to accept the cultural shift. In conclusion, immigration has two main causes, people move, either to get a better life or to escape the problems in their country. As to the effects, while Immigrants would contribute to diversifying the society while striving to improve their host nation, there is also a possibility that the citizens resent their new neighbours due to unwarranted fears.