A large amount of advertisements nowadays are targeted at children. Many people say these have negative effects on children and should therefore be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a great deal of commercials are designed so as to influence children. while some people believe these advertisements should not be stopped, I personally think they had better be prohibited. The opponents of banning child-related advertisements, on the one hand, claim that such adverts can be potentially useful. They argue that these commercials could be informative for children. In other words, many companies use educational concepts to introduce their goods. By doing so, not only manufacturers benefit from advertisements, but also children will learn essential basics. Take Oral-B company, for example, while it showcases its specific toothbrushes for children in TV commercials, it demonstrates the proper method of toothbrushing which can be of benefit for them. Therefore, child-targeted advertisements can have possible advantages. I, on the other hand, believe such advertisements made for children is better to be ceased as it can have harmful consequences on their health. That is not to say that, all food products are unhealthy, but the majority of them advertised in any way such as chocolates, can have a serious adverse effect on a child’s well-being. This stem from the fact that there are many food manufacturers trying to address children to sell their products ranging from sugary drinks to fast food, leading to putting their future customers’ health at risk such as obesity. For instance, Coca-Cola recently has aimed at children in its advertisements, by incorporating a cartoon’s hero to draw their attention to its products. Therefore, many advertisements targeted at children can be harmful to them. In conclusion, while some people insist that commercials that address children should be allowed as it can have some merits, I personally think such adverts had better prevent as they can have substantial negative impacts on children physical health.