Should young people choose a university subject based on what will help them get a good job rather than what interests them?

Nowadays, there’s a significant problem with attending university. Part of the new generation considers choosing their field of study based on what salary such specialists have. However, others take their interests into account. Frankly speaking, I believe that majoring in a subject you are passionate about is way better than finding the most lucrative one. The main reason why people are willing to take up a new course predicated on their attraction is that they would have more motivation to work hard and towards entering the job market. Putting all one’s heart into a field a person is interested in, allows them to map their further career path out. For instance, my sister managed to attain a master’s degree in international relations due to her passion for this sphere. When it comes to choosing one’s career path, every opinion and advice matters. Furthermore, under parents’ pressure, students could attend a faculty they aren’t interested in. Learning such information day in, day out may lead to multiple burnouts. As a result, a person solely struggles and cannot reach its full potential. Analysing my friend’s situation, I would definitely say that she had such an emotional state when she used to listen to her relatives and had picked medicine as a subject to learn and had no motivation to continue studying. To conclude, I would say that attending a university based on one’s true calling is the best way to become successful. Outlining your wish without taking others’ words into consideration opens up your full abilities. Combining your passion and a profitable career would lead you to the top.