Due to development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small local business are unable to compete. Some people thought that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree??

Shopping through grocery stores in your locality has conventionally been considered quite safe and convenient. However, due to the emergence of supermarkets, the local players are under threat and are on the verge of shutting down. I strongly agree that the small and local players are losing market share as against the supermarkets and bigger stores, resulting in local communities being in a dying state. Firstly, as these supermarkets tend to offer deep discounts on various products, shoppers prefer to buy from them over local players. The flexibility of a local store to match the prices and offers with a bigger one is somewhat limited. This leads to immense savings for a household by purchasing most of the essentials cheaper. For instance, a recent study in Mumbai revealed that the annual saving on household expenses can be somewhere around twenty per cent by buying through newly opened hypermarkets. These savings can further be utilized by families in either their leisure activities or other discretionary expenses. Additionally, there is a convenience element that determines the preference of supermarkets over local community shops. Although the neighbourhood shops can deliver the items faster being situated closer to home, yet the convenience of buying everything under one roof encourages people to shop through supermarkets. Moreover, these big-sized players have state-of-the-art technology that is enabling them to constantly improving customer engagement and implementing methods to make shopping easy and faster. To illustrate, Walmart and other similar supermarket chains have launched their applications which continuously provides the latest offers and other key information necessary to make an informed buying decision. To conclude, the local stores are in disarray as they have limited resources to compete with big stores which have deep pockets and technological advantage. The reduced dependence on local businesses will eventually lead to the death of local communities.