Some people believe that governments should ban dangerous sports. Others claim that they should have freedom to choose their favourite activities. Discuss both views and present your opinion.

The prevalence of dangerous sports has sparked a heated debate, with some arguing that the government should enact a law that prohibits such activities, while others thought that sportsmen should have the freedom to choose. While there are merits to both sides of the argument, I firmly believe that people have the right to choose as they see fit. To start off, the argument that law enforcers need to ban extreme sports is not unfounded. The number of accidents has risen significantly over the years, signifying the great risks surrounding those hobbies. For example, there were one thousand cases of death because of paragliding in the city of Jakarta in 2023, an increment of 500 deaths compared to the number in 2000. Furthermore, it is a common belief that the government should ensure the safety of its citizens, including from dangerous activities. On the other hand, our society is built based on the notion of freedom, people are free to do any type of activity as long as others are not harmed in the process. Moreover, it is important to emphasize that all athletes who partake in extreme sports have an in-depth understanding of the risks that come with the chosen sport. For instance, before entering a ski resort, the customers have to sign a piece of paper, indicating that they know all the negative consequences that may come around. To conclude, despite the lethal nature of those activities, they should not compromise on the promise of freedom which is considered a basic human right, especially given that the risks are all well understood.