Teenagers should never be put in the same prison with adults no matter how serious their crime is. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Today's youngsters have a lot of avenues to get into criminal activities. For instance, unfettered access to social media may lead to moral compromise. Some people in society believe that teenagers who commit serious crimes should be placed in the same confinement as adults. On the other hand, most are against this idea. I completely agree with the latter idea, youngsters shouldn't be placed in adult jail. I have described the reasons for my views in this essay. First of all, children are easily influenced by the environment they inhabit. For instance, while in jail, kids may end up spending time with hardened criminals, with minimal supervision. This makes it easy for these anti-social elements to inspire these young minds to commit more serious offences. An example is some criminals may even recruit teenagers into their gang. Furthermore, some serious offenders in confinement may target such kids specifically. For example, the prison population may consist of paedophiles who would want to exploit and abuse them. On the other hand, people argue that penance should be equivalent to crime. What they fail to understand is penitentiary is supposed to be a place of rehabilitation, not a place just to inflict punishment. It's incumbent upon society that the prisoners are not only punished but also shown a way to get their life in order. In conclusion, while a majority of people in society want to keep children out of adult prison, some still believe teenagers should be put in the same jail as adults. Since children are easily influenced and would be in danger when in the same prison as adults, this idea should never be implemented.