In many countries , people are now living longer the ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for the governments. Other people think there are benefits for society has more elderly people. To what extent the advantage of having ageing population outweigh the disadvantages.

There is an ongoing debate about whether the population size of seniors should increase or not. In fact, this demographic tendency brings several benefits and drawbacks to society. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I consider that the advantages cannot outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, the negative impacts brought by this trend on communities are significant. In reality, Japan, where the proportion of people aged over 60 exceeded 30% of the entire population, reveals some crucial consequences. For example, the Japanese government needs to allocate a significant amount of financial capital to the payment of pensions, and this expenditure forces the government to issue a number of national bonds. Moreover, due to this situation, the Japanese cabinet decided to implement a higher tax, and the payers of that high tax involve younger people. In other words, the growing ageing population is one of the biggest reasons for its large amount of debt. Therefore, it is obvious that this ongoing trend generates several problems for society, and people who need to suffer from those issues are mainly young citizens. On the other hand, as some people argue, it is also true that some benefits are brought by the increase in the number of elderly people. For instance, when the ageing population in Japan began growing steeply, the Japanese government started distributing handouts to those people, leading to the rise of living standards on a nationwide scale. This case indicates that this trend consequently enhanced the level of citizens' happiness because this demographic transformation stimulates public sectors to provide more handouts. Certainly, from this perspective, the existence of this trend brings advantages to society, as a result. However, people who enjoy those advantages are mainly aged citizens, and younger people are just supporting those governmental actions by paying money. This is because the policies implemented by governments are usually directed only towards older generations. In short, the benefits brought by this trend are utilized only by the retired population, although people who support the non-working class cannot enjoy those benefits. In conclusion, whereas the benefits generated from this trend tend to be monopolized by the elderly, younger generations are stressed by the financial burdens behind this tendency. This situation reveals inequality in society. For this reason, I believe that the benefits do not outweigh the drawbacks.